A Change of Venue

As you can see this is a new venue for my blog.  You can become a follower and it will come automatically to you or you can continue to receive notices of its posting from me.  Just click on the follow button at the top of this page.  If you have any problems receiving it, please let me know.

And a change of venue is good!

Sometimes it is important to shake things up, to make a change, to switch things up so that life doesn’t become predictable.  I have recently changed venues in my geography.  No longer living in Western New York, I find myself enjoying the climate of Northeast Georgia.  Here in Georgia fall is more like our summer with temperatures in the high 70’s to low 80’s as the tress slowly begin to change color.  Admittedly, it is a change I need some more time adjusting to, but overall it has been a time of discovery and delight.

Speaking of changing color…I recently had my hair touched up by a new hairdresser.  Her idea of how the color would come out and how it actually did come out proved to be at odds with each other.  Instead of a nice under color of copper, my hair sported pink low lights all over my head!  Now that was definitely a change for me…  And I toyed with leaving it that way.  After all pink is my color.  Alas, she wouldn’t hear of it, but for a moment I had some very delightful thoughts and laughs.

If I had kept it, it certainly would have broken me out of my usual appearance and, I imagine, how I saw myself from the inside out.  And I still think it would have been a fun change of scenery so to speak.

Breaking out of our usual way of thinking, appearing, or approaching situations can bring about surprising results.  We have all heard the definition of insanity – doing the same things over and over again and expecting different results. Many of us say over and over again ‘I am so tired’, ‘I need some time for myself’,  or ‘I can’t wait for the weekend’, and then when we get a chance to take some time, we just keep doing all the things that made us so tired in the first place.

If you are craving some time for yourself, feeling exhausted, overwhelmed and bordering on martyrdom, then maybe it is time to let go of that old thinking, to change the color of your life, to see yourself differently and to get out of that rut that has kept you stuck in this numb state of existence.

If you think you will feel guilty if you do, then think about how you will feel if you don’t?  How will that feeling affect your family, friends or co-workers?  If you think you don’t have time, then how will filling your time up with more energy drainers make you feel?  If you think ‘in your dreams’, then why not bring this dream into a reality and see what a difference it can make in your life.

When did you last spend time in discovery and delight because you made a change in the way you were thinking or acting?  Did that time of discovery and delight bring you some new insights on self care?

This week why not allow yourself the grace to just be, to get a massage, to call an old friend for coffee or drinks, to sit and watch the leaves change color, to drink deeply from the silence around you, to enjoy a good belly laugh, to slow down and not hurry for one whole day, to get your hair color changed or to do something that will bring you great joy and refreshment?

Why not?

About Nancy A Leport

Nancy is a certified life coach who works with women and men who want to live by design not by default. She coaches amazing, busy, overwhelmed, and stressed people to live the life they want. She helps them get out from under the "should's" and "ought's" of everyone else's opinion to refresh, renew and recreate their bodies, minds and spirits. Isn't it time you gave yourself the gift of a de-stress coach? For more information, please call 585-943-3314
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

