How Fast Can You Go?

I heard a commercial today stating categorically that “FASTER IS BETTER”.   The pitch was about cell phone speed and yes, we have grown accustomed to high-speed on our cell phones but the statement by itself just doesn’t ring true to me.  Does it to you?

There are many things in life that are not improved by speed.   I have gotten into more pickles than I care to remember because I was hurrying, trying to do something too fast or ignoring the signs to slow down…and speeding tickets are only one example.

How nice is a slow dance or a slow, leisurely stroll through a garden or a slow cooked meal or a slow kiss, or a slow and gentle rock in a porch swing or, or, or…you can add your own favorite type of slow.

Life flies by way too fast.  Time seems to speed up as we age.  We suddenly find ourselves the oldest generation at the family table and we wonder “how did that happen so fast?”  Wasn’t it just yesterday that I was a new mother asking my mother for advice?  Now my daughter is a mom asking me.  I went to a tea the other day with my 4-year-old granddaughter and as I looked around I saw a lot of grandmas but for a moment they were just little girls with grandmother faces.

In this busy time of year it is easy to wish for more speed, more time to fill up with things to do, more, more, more but what if you took a moment to think about what are the slow things you love about this time of the year.  How many memories that you savor about the holidays have to do with fast?  How many with slow?

It’s one thing to get to the end of the holidays and vow to do it more slowly and differently next year.  It’s another to get to the end of your life and realize you won’t have a chance to do it differently.

Women tell me that they can’t slow down and care for themselves because they will feel guilty.   I wonder sometimes if we don’t want to slow down and care for our bodies and spirits because we will feel.  Being busy, going faster, filling up my calendar gives me the illusion of having control over my life.  Part of that control is not having to look at areas that may not be going so well or areas that truly need my full attention and I just don’t want to deal with them.  Another part of my busy-ness is an attempt to keep everyone happy and be liked.

To slow down and look at any of those things means I have to feel the emotions attached.  To feel those emotions might unlock other emotions I don’t want to deal with.  To feel the truth of my life can be harder than living with a false sense of importance or so I think.

As a result I move faster and pretend that faster really is better when I know in my heart of hearts slow is best for everyone in my emotional field including myself.

Slow it down this week and savor the moments.  You will never get any of them back.  Treasure each one for the gift it is.

Find the fun and live the joy,

Nancy

 

About Nancy A Leport

Nancy is a certified life coach who works with women and men who want to live by design not by default. She coaches amazing, busy, overwhelmed, and stressed people to live the life they want. She helps them get out from under the "should's" and "ought's" of everyone else's opinion to refresh, renew and recreate their bodies, minds and spirits. Isn't it time you gave yourself the gift of a de-stress coach? For more information, please call 585-943-3314
This entry was posted in Christmas, holiday stress, holidays, Professional Women, stress reduction, Uncategorized, Women and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

