Time4Yourself

What would be the title of your life story?  Would it be “Stop the World, I Want to Get Off” or, “I’ve Had the Time of My Life” or, “I Did It My Way” or “Whatever Happened to (insert your name)?” or “I Was Born to Please”?

Taking time to stop and think about the life story you are writing is important.  It is a good way to reflect on how you are spending this precious life of yours and a good way to do a course correction if necessary.  Obviously, within our books are a variety of chapters and naming the chapters along the way is a good way to see whether there is a pattern that needs to be broken or whether there is a chapter you are really jazzed to write for yourself.  Earlier chapters will look and sound different from later ones – at least I hope they will.

My early chapters would be filled with a false sense of purpose, direction and confidence.  As my story progressed the chapters would be less sure, more tentative and more questioning.  I would definitely go from black and white to shades of gray (although not like the book series!)  My sense of the world would grow bigger and my sense of myself would grow to be more in harmony with the vastness and less centered on myself.

But at the same time I would see that I have come to recognize how being in harmony with the things around me meant I had to be in harmony with myself.  Hopefully, I would see my journey as one from a self-centered being to being a centered self.

Taking time for yourself, taking care of yourself, being able to relax and let go of control, having regular spiritual and mental health breaks are all ways to become a centered self and write a life story that has true power, authenticity and purpose.  It will also be a story that leaves a legacy for your family and friends so that their life story title might include a subtitle, “How I want to be like (insert your name here) when I grow up.”

About Nancy A Leport

Nancy is a certified life coach who works with women and men who want to live by design not by default. She coaches amazing, busy, overwhelmed, and stressed people to live the life they want. She helps them get out from under the "should's" and "ought's" of everyone else's opinion to refresh, renew and recreate their bodies, minds and spirits. Isn't it time you gave yourself the gift of a de-stress coach? For more information, please call 585-943-3314
This entry was posted in Professional Women, self-care, stress reduction, Uncategorized, Women and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

