Time4Yourself in Words

Some of you know that I play a number of Words with Friends games throughout the week.  It is always fun to see what words either I or my opponent can come with to hit a high score.  Often we are messaging throughout the game with questions like, “Fico, really?  And what does that mean?”  I am amazed at the words I never knew were words let alone what they mean.

Words are powerful.  Not just to get high scores in Words or Scrabble but because of the power they have to lift us up or bring us down.  Most of us found ourselves at some time chanting on the playground of life ‘sticks and stones can break my bones but words will never hurt me’ when someone flung a loaded word grenade.  Our bones may still have been intact but inside we know we have been blown to bits.  Those words we pretended didn’t hurt had hit their intended target.

The words we use on ourselves are just as powerful.  Even though we would never pick up a loaded hand grenade, pull the pin and stand there holding it until it explodes in our hands, we do pull the pin on many self talk grenades letting the shrapnel do its damage.  

Why? 

What do we gain from negative self talk?  How does our life improve by beating ourselves up verbally?  Do you find your inner voice saying things like “you clutz”, “you will never amount to anything”, “you have got to be dumbest woman around”, “how did you not see that coming”, “who do you think you are”,” you really don’t think you deserve to take some time for yourself do you”?   

We are often our own worst enemy when it comes to what we say to ourselves. 

This week reframe your negative self talk into positive, life-giving, and forward moving words.   Pat yourself on the back when you do.  Celebrate your powerfully positive self talk and let it begin with giving yourself a break to recharge, refresh and return to a rested baseline in which to go out and be the powerful woman you are.  You do deserve some time for yourself every day. 

Go for it,

Nancy

About Nancy A Leport

Nancy is a certified life coach who works with women and men who want to live by design not by default. She coaches amazing, busy, overwhelmed, and stressed people to live the life they want. She helps them get out from under the "should's" and "ought's" of everyone else's opinion to refresh, renew and recreate their bodies, minds and spirits. Isn't it time you gave yourself the gift of a de-stress coach? For more information, please call 585-943-3314
This entry was posted in Professional Women, self-care, stress reduction, Uncategorized, Women and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Time4Yourself in Words

  1. E.K. Carmel says:

    I’ve had periods in my life when I was very good at bringing myself down with my negative thoughts and words and I’ve worked really hard to get myself out of the habit. Because it really does become a habit. I still have my bad days when everything external goes wrong and that nasty internal voice starts up. But I’ve been down that road often enough that even in the midst of it, I know that it’s temporary. At least for me.

    Like

  2. Thanks, Eileen. I hear you!!!! and YAY for recognizing that voice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

