Time4Yourself and Your Kids

This post is for women with children who think that taking time for themselves is selfish and that they must keep up a hectic schedule to be a good mom.

Not so according to a survey conducted in 2010.  The number one thing kids want from their parents is for their parents to be less stressed and tired.  (Source:  Find Your Strongest Life by Marcus Buckingham) AND there is a direct correlation between well-adjusted, happy children and the emotional health of the mother. (Source:  The Price of Privilege by Madeline Levine).

This is good news, Moms!  Here is the permission you have been seeking so you won’t feel guilty for taking some time for yourself, for putting yourself first for a change and for slowing down.

I can tell you from my own personal experience that I was a workaholic mom who never stopped being busy with something and for someone.  Now in my sixties I look back and ask myself “Why?  Why did I push so hard on things that had no real lasting value or legacy?  Were all those meetings at night really necessary in the big picture?  Did it really matter that I attended every meeting even if the agendas were the same as they were the month before?”  And, here is the question that hurts my heart “What message did I convey to my children who were home without me on school nights?”

The question hurts my heart because I see my daughters not taking time for themselves, pushing too hard and overdoing it.  I was not a good role model for their whole selves.

So what is the model you want to convey to your children?  How busy do you really have to be?  How much is your stress affecting your children?

Be good to yourselves.  Your children will thank you for it.

About Nancy A Leport

Nancy is a certified life coach who works with women and men who want to live by design not by default. She coaches amazing, busy, overwhelmed, and stressed people to live the life they want. She helps them get out from under the "should's" and "ought's" of everyone else's opinion to refresh, renew and recreate their bodies, minds and spirits. Isn't it time you gave yourself the gift of a de-stress coach? For more information, please call 585-943-3314
This entry was posted in Professional Women, self-care, stress reduction, Uncategorized, Women and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

