Time and a Place 4 Yourself

Do you have a safe space where you can go and just be?  This is a place where you are not burdened with responsibilities, demands or interruptions.  It can be a window seat, a favorite chair or couch but when you are there people know not to disturb you.  Some people have, as Virginia Woolf suggested, ‘a room of their own’ to which they can retreat and find refuge from the stressors of the day.  I know of other people who use a long, hot soak in the tub as their sacred space for unwinding.

As some of you know this past year I have had the privilege of having an apartment of my own 900 miles away from all major responsibilities in my home.  This was a daring move on my part but it has become a life saver, an eye opener and a place where my creativity can flow and I am at peace.  Doing something like this was never on my radar screen nor did I even consider going to these extremes to find my own space but it is amazing what stepping out of my comfort zone has done for my comfort!

What would you do in a room or a space of your own?  Journal, read, think, draw, sleep, soak, change the world?  Whatever it is don’t miss an opportunity to establish a place of refuge and rest.  I highly recommend you do it. It just might change your life.

May I challenge you this week to carve out that space so that the time you spend on yourself becomes even more life-giving and refreshing?

About Nancy A Leport

Nancy is a certified life coach who works with women and men who want to live by design not by default. She coaches amazing, busy, overwhelmed, and stressed people to live the life they want. She helps them get out from under the "should's" and "ought's" of everyone else's opinion to refresh, renew and recreate their bodies, minds and spirits. Isn't it time you gave yourself the gift of a de-stress coach? For more information, please call 585-943-3314
This entry was posted in Professional Women, self-care, stress reduction, Uncategorized, Women and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

