Time4Yourself Challenge

I was just reading that highly literary magazine, Glamour, (don’t ask why) when I came across what I think is an amazing suggestion for those of you getting ready to go on vacation soon.  What is this highly intelligent periodical suggesting?

…that you set your out of office email response one day before your vacation starts so you can get caught up on everything else!

I so remember that last day before vacation being one of the most stressed out days ever.  Trying to take care of last minute things, looking ahead to try and take care of what will come up, and finishing up any deadlines that are hanging fire would keep me on an adrenaline high for at least 12 hours.  By the time I walked out of the office I was so exhausted that I could barely pack and get myself ready to leave home.   Furthermore, it would take at least 2 days to switch my mind from work mode to vacation mode. And let’s not even think about all that cortisol (stress hormone) my body was releasing and the harm it was doing to me.

I wish I had thought of this years ago and taken at least a bit of stress off my plate the day before I left.

And maybe this suggestion isn’t just for those who are working outside of the home.  Maybe everyone should set their email response to unavailable for a day or so in order to lessen the stress and give you more time for yourself.

Anyone up for the challenge?

About Nancy A Leport

Nancy is a certified life coach who works with women and men who want to live by design not by default. She coaches amazing, busy, overwhelmed, and stressed people to live the life they want. She helps them get out from under the "should's" and "ought's" of everyone else's opinion to refresh, renew and recreate their bodies, minds and spirits. Isn't it time you gave yourself the gift of a de-stress coach? For more information, please call 585-943-3314
This entry was posted in Professional Women, self-care, stress reduction, Uncategorized, Women and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

