Time4Yourself Alone

I’m on quarantine due to a medical issue; and therefore, I am forced to spend the entire weekend alone!  Sigh…

Do you enjoy time by yourself?  Some people need to have time away from other people and daily responsibilities in order to recharge their batteries.  Other people find time by themselves almost painful.  I fall somewhere in between.  That is probably because I am right on the cusp of introvert/extrovert on the Myers Briggs Personality Assessment. 

I know when I need to withdraw and be alone, and I definitely know when I have been alone too long and need some social interaction or I will go stark raving mad!  We’ll see what my mental state is at the end of these 3 days in lock down.  ;My two daughters are complete opposites.  One craves alone time or she isn’t pleasant to be around after too much social interaction and one thrives on social interaction and has had to learn how to enjoy her alone time. 

Which are you?  Often times women who are not at ease alone worry that they will not have anything to distract them from their thoughts – old wounds, gremlin voices, negative talk and that they will have to pay attention to the things that keep them doing the same things over and over. 

It’s tough when we have made a habit of running from the painful memories of the past or our present realities to just take some time for yourself alone.   I have had to learn to make friends with myself.  Someone once suggested that I treat myself the way I treat my friends with the same care, consideration and attention I give to them.  Even if you have to fake it pretend you are your best friend and do the things you want to do, explore conversations the way you would with her/him, and never allow negative talk or thoughts to enter into your time.  If they do, say “thank you for your input, but that isn’t helpful right now.” 

Let the distractions go for a period of time this week and get to know yourself better, to like yourself better and to enjoy your own company.  And, hopefully, you can do it voluntarily rather than have it forced on you.  I think that would be much more fun!

Take good care and enjoy yourself!

Nancy 

 

About Nancy A Leport

Nancy is a certified life coach who works with women and men who want to live by design not by default. She coaches amazing, busy, overwhelmed, and stressed people to live the life they want. She helps them get out from under the "should's" and "ought's" of everyone else's opinion to refresh, renew and recreate their bodies, minds and spirits. Isn't it time you gave yourself the gift of a de-stress coach? For more information, please call 585-943-3314
This entry was posted in Professional Women, self-care, stress reduction, Uncategorized, Women and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

