Time4Yourself

In my neck of the woods, summer is almost over.  By August we have made the turn toward a return to school and the weather usually begins to cool off.  In some parts of the country the kids have already gone back to school.

When I get to August I find myself taking an inventory of my summer bucket list.  What have I not done that I really want to do before it gets cold and snowy?

Since I love being by the water, it is important that I spend some time by the water each summer.   I also love swinging in my hammock reading and letting the trees provide a wonderful leafy canopy.   Have I had all of my favorite summer foods – potato salad, sweet corn, homegrown tomatoes, blueberries and peaches?  Did I make a blueberry pie to have for breakfast just because it is so short a season?

So far this year I have done almost all of those things – a blueberry pie is on the agenda for Monday!

But I remember one year when I did not get to the beach.  My body, mind and spirit craved time by the water, but I was too busy and never bothered to drive 15 miles to satisfy that craving.   And I regretted it all winter.  It was like part of me was left behind yearning for something that didn’t happen and I moved into winter less than whole.

Are there things that you want to do before summer is gone?  Have you checked off all the things on your summer bucket list?  Do you even have a summer bucket list?  What are you waiting for?

No one is going to give you permission to fill your spirit with the things that make you feel good, whole and alive.  You have to take control of your time and find a way to take care of yourself.  Time for yourself is a must if you are to be at your best for others.

Take a moment to think about those things you still want to do before the leaves begin to fall.

Now, I’m off to have a juicy tomato sandwich…one like I cannot make from hot-house tomatoes.

Nancy

 

About Nancy A Leport

Nancy is a certified life coach who works with women and men who want to live by design not by default. She coaches amazing, busy, overwhelmed, and stressed people to live the life they want. She helps them get out from under the "should's" and "ought's" of everyone else's opinion to refresh, renew and recreate their bodies, minds and spirits. Isn't it time you gave yourself the gift of a de-stress coach? For more information, please call 585-943-3314
This entry was posted in Professional Women, self-care, stress reduction, Uncategorized, Women and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

