Time4Yourself and Facades

The Beatles sang, “I get by with a little help from my friends…” and so do I!  In fact, for the most part it only takes a little help from my friends to get me through a tough or stressful time.  And because I have such wonderful friends they often give me more than a little help; they give me a lot of help.

How about you?  Do you have those chicken soup friends who you know will be there when you call?

And, if you are like me, I marvel every time they come to my side at how faithful, loyal and committed they are to our friendship.  Each time I am in awe that I should have friends like this.  And each time I wonder why I hesitated to call in reinforcements?

You see I am not one to ask for help or support easily.  To do so means stepping out from behind the facade of being all together and letting others see me at my most vulnerable.  It is tough for me to do that.  It is hard for many independent women to do that.  We have heard for years that women are weaker, more emotional, less able to lead because we might cry than men!   So we suck it up and tough it out.

But what this does is simply increase our stress.  My friends, when I call them, come and immediately my stress decreases.  When I don’t call them, and I try to handle things on my own, my stress just keeps increasing.

Asking for help is a sign of strength not weakness.  Letting people know that you could use a little help from them, makes us more able to lead not less.  And crying with friends releases tensions and coping hormones that allow us to be less emotional not more.

So to my friends, I say thank you for being a great stress reducer.  And thank you for reminding me that you are only a phone call, a Facebook posting, a blog, or an email away when I decide to drop the facade.

Nancy

 

About Nancy A Leport

Nancy is a certified life coach who works with women and men who want to live by design not by default. She coaches amazing, busy, overwhelmed, and stressed people to live the life they want. She helps them get out from under the "should's" and "ought's" of everyone else's opinion to refresh, renew and recreate their bodies, minds and spirits. Isn't it time you gave yourself the gift of a de-stress coach? For more information, please call 585-943-3314
This entry was posted in Professional Women, self-care, stress reduction, Uncategorized, Women and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

