Time4Yourself and Location, Location, Location

quote on being a woman today

Why is it that a new location can be a source of calm and relaxation?  Vacation spots, a secluded walk in the woods, a sanctuary, a friend’s home can all induce almost an immediate sigh of relief and peace in me.

I am sure there are many reasons but for me one of the main one is that I’ve stepped away from the things that remind there is work to be done.  I am seeing things from a different perspective and it reminds me that there is more to life than the chores awaiting me at home or at work.

Anne Morrow Lindbergh stepped away from her life and went to the beach to: ‘think out my own particular pattern of living, my own individual balance of life, work and human relationships.’  In this thinking time away she penned one of the most beautiful books ever written about a woman’s need to step away and gain perspective – A Gift From the Sea. 

We don’t always have the freedom to step away that completely and reflect and when we do it is a real gift from the universe!

So imagine my surprise when I found calm and relaxation in my new condo surrounded by unpacked boxes.  Perhaps it is the novelty of the place and the routine hasn’t been established yet.  Perhaps it is the fact that I am too tired from the move here to plunge into more chores and more exhaustion.  Perhaps it is the sunshine pouring in my windows or the new trees outside my windows.  Whatever the reason I am paying attention and responding to it.

My perspective has changed and I hope it isn’t temporary.  In order to maintain it:

IMG_2111 (2)

1.  I am nurturing the feeling by engaging in the sense of calm at least for a little while every day.  I don’t want to forget what it feels like and how it makes me feel.

2.  I am not making to do lists.  As I think of it or see it I take care of it even if it means letting other things go.

3.  I am letting my body tell my mind when to sit and relax with no argument, no need to justify or reward myself.

I am hoping this is the beginning of a new way of being and thinking every day not just those days when I take a day off or go on vacation and step away from my routine.

The real estate ads are right. It is all about location, location, location but in the business of self-care it is location of your physical energy and your mind that can lead you to a place of rest, renewal and a pause that refreshes right in your own home.

Take Time4Yourself today,

Nancy

 

About Nancy A Leport

Nancy is a certified life coach who works with women and men who want to live by design not by default. She coaches amazing, busy, overwhelmed, and stressed people to live the life they want. She helps them get out from under the "should's" and "ought's" of everyone else's opinion to refresh, renew and recreate their bodies, minds and spirits. Isn't it time you gave yourself the gift of a de-stress coach? For more information, please call 585-943-3314
This entry was posted in Professional Women, self-care, stress reduction, Uncategorized, Women and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

