A Valued Life

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about my life.  In doing so I’ve been looking at my values.  What are the things that are most important to me and then putting them over against my choices to see if they match up.

For instance one of my values is relationships.  I value having close friends and building strong relationships with people I love and care about.  In looking at my life in regard to this value, I have been intentional about staying connected to  positive, life-giving friends and family.  Carving out time to spend with them, making IMG_1020phone calls or sending regular emails takes priority in my week.  And, likewise, I have been letting the negative, life-deniers go.  (In some ways Facebook has been a valuable tool in doing this as I see what many people actually think and say on social media).

Another of my values is care for myself – my body, mind and spirit. This one can be a bit more difficult to live up to because I often find myself in conflict over what I feel I should be doing for someone else (see above) and what I need to do for myself.  balance stonesBalancing needs with wants and/or shoulds can be tricky.

Here is where another value comes to the rescue and that is energy.  I need to pay attention to the amount of energy I have.  You see it is not time that we manage, but energy.  There is always the same amount of time – 24 hours every day. Time business concept. However, the amount of energy varies depending on how we choose to spend our time.  So I do an energy check now to see if my energy reserves are high enough or if I need to spend time recharging my energy cells before I take on something.Return on Investment - Arrow and Target

What are your values and how do they line up with how you are living your life?

Take good care,

Nancy

About Nancy A Leport

Nancy is a certified life coach who works with women and men who want to live by design not by default. She coaches amazing, busy, overwhelmed, and stressed people to live the life they want. She helps them get out from under the "should's" and "ought's" of everyone else's opinion to refresh, renew and recreate their bodies, minds and spirits. Isn't it time you gave yourself the gift of a de-stress coach? For more information, please call 585-943-3314
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Valued Life

  1. segmation says:

    What nice tips, thank you for sharing Nancy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

