The Times – They Are A Changin

“When the winds of change blow, some people build walls wall

and others build windmills”Blue windmill toyBlue windmill toy

Chinese Proverb

 The winds of change are blowing in my life and as much as I would like to hunker down and build a wall to shut it out I know I have to build a windmill and catch those winds.     A new adventure awaits me as I pack up to leave my beloved Woodstock, GA.  A place that  embraces change and adventure with a spirit and enthusiasm that is contagious.  I have never lived in a community where I felt so much at home and was welcomed without any walls being put up to shut me out.

There are times in our lives when something just feels so right that you wonder how you lived without for so long.  And it is in those times when I realize that it is change that brought me to those places.  Without allowing change to enter my life I would have never experienced this magical community.

So many people fear change and cling to what is rather than looking at the horizon and wondering what could be.  Change is a given.  Everything changes.  It is a constant just like death and taxes.  Building walls to shut it out can be self-defeating.

There is definitely a time and place to build a wall or set a boundary but a wall or a boundary will not stop the winds of change.  They will only keep you stuck behind your own fear.

So, I’m gathering material to build myself one of those little whirly-gig windmills like above.  I remember playing with them as a child and loving how the wind whipped through the blades and delighted me with swirling colors and breezes on my face.

Running through the yard with it held high I let my imagination take me wherever it would.  I could be a warrior princess charging into battle.  I could be a drum major leading the band.    I could be a bird soaring high into the sky. clouds I could be a helicopter pilot looking for a lost child.  I could be the first human flying without a plane.  I could change into whatever I desired and go on exciting adventures.

I still can.  Only this time I am not limited by time and space.  I am ready to catch the wind and let it take me on a new and exciting adventure.

How about you?  Are the winds of change blowing through your life?

Nancy

About Nancy A Leport

Nancy is a certified life coach who works with women and men who want to live by design not by default. She coaches amazing, busy, overwhelmed, and stressed people to live the life they want. She helps them get out from under the "should's" and "ought's" of everyone else's opinion to refresh, renew and recreate their bodies, minds and spirits. Isn't it time you gave yourself the gift of a de-stress coach? For more information, please call 585-943-3314
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

