Renewal

If you have ever traveled in the Australian outback you know that there are dried ruts from vehicles as they have traversed the long journey through the wilderness.  And you will also understand why they came up with this proverb:  “choose your rut carefully, you will be in it for a long time.”

Without traveling in the Australian outback I can relate to that.  There are far more times than I care to remember where I have been in a rut…and been there for a long time.  It isn’t until I decide to get out of that rut and make some changes to renew my life that the real journey begins.

According to Webster, the definition of renew is to make or become new, fresh or strong again.

It’s that ‘again’ that jumps out at me.  Because I know I have done this before and will most likely have to learn it all over again in a few years.  IMG_2111 (2)Those ruts just keep me chugging along until my frustration, health or well-being says “ENOUGH.”

Have you ever felt like that?

Renewing our lives or hitting the refresh button is to accept that things are going to change.  And often times we are reluctant to change because the unknown scares us.  To  make the choice to change takes tremendous courage and energy and many people never follow through because it is such a difficult undertaking.

For example, in order to make the changes necessary to refresh and renew my life, I have to examine every current practice and norm that forms my life.  I have to look intently at how each practice or choice brings me closer to a new way of being or takes me farther away.  Things that I thought I had to do may be turned upside down as I seriously study the reasons behind my thinking and my doing.  It is a daunting challenge.

But without the challenge all that I can hope for is more and more miles of ruts.  All too often what I think passes for renewal is a subtle shift that I slowly bend to fit the boundaries of my current situation.  Jumping from one rut to the next  and expecting things to change is not renewal.  It is insanity.

So here goes.  My challenge is guarding my energy centers, saying No more, and letting the guilt go.  These, btw, are old challenges that I seem to let slip every once in a while.  Time to get out of the rut of the easy answer and offer the best answer for me while being open to most benevolent outcome for all.

And I wish it was as easy as hitting the refresh button on my computer!

How about you?  Are you ready to examine your life under a microscope and rid yourself of all those “should’s”, “have to’s”, “but who else will do it”, and “there are no other choices” kind of thinking?  Remember, every single practice, assumption and norm has to be looked at with new eyes and from a fresh perspective.

Let me know what you are choosing to change and how it is going.

Refreshingly hopeful,

Nancy

 

 

A

About Nancy A Leport

Nancy is a certified life coach who works with women and men who want to live by design not by default. She coaches amazing, busy, overwhelmed, and stressed people to live the life they want. She helps them get out from under the "should's" and "ought's" of everyone else's opinion to refresh, renew and recreate their bodies, minds and spirits. Isn't it time you gave yourself the gift of a de-stress coach? For more information, please call 585-943-3314
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

