Saving Time

I was listening to that great Jim Croce tune, Time in a Bottle, (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I1YxczPEPrs) the other day and the line “If I could save time in a bottle, the first thing that I’d want to do”, kept playing in my mind.

What would I do if I could stop time in a bottle?  And not just to stop time so that I had more time to finish my chores but what moments in time would I like to have stopped in order to savor?

The first thing that popped was my children at ages 3 and 4.  It was such a time of discovery and innocence and I know I didn’t always see it that way.  Why?  Because I was exhausted trying to keep up with them and all the other things that were in my life at that time.laundry

Then I fast forwarded to their high school years.  It wasn’t until their graduation day that I realized just how fast time had flown by.  It didn’t seem possible they were graduating…hadn’t they just started kindergarten?  Letting my memory journey over those 12 years I realized more than at any other time in my life that moments pass far too quickly and had to question how I had passed far too many of them.

boring meetingBut the rub comes when I realize that even though I had this great AHA moment, I am not sure I changed how I set priorities or savored the ordinary moments of my life.  You see I am very good at cramming a lot of moments into one day and soon they just blur together and become another check off my to-do list.

So today, knowing this and having reflected on the prophetic Croce song, will I do things differently?

Time will tell, but I do know that I cannot stop time in a bottle or anywhere else except my heart.  It’s my choice.

What about you?  How do you savor the moments of your life?  Do you?

Well, for today, I am going to savor my time with my grandsons as we go on an adventure together – all day!

Nancy

 

About Nancy A Leport

Nancy is a certified life coach who works with women and men who want to live by design not by default. She coaches amazing, busy, overwhelmed, and stressed people to live the life they want. She helps them get out from under the "should's" and "ought's" of everyone else's opinion to refresh, renew and recreate their bodies, minds and spirits. Isn't it time you gave yourself the gift of a de-stress coach? For more information, please call 585-943-3314
This entry was posted in Professional Women, self-care, stress reduction, Uncategorized, Women and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

