How’s It Going?

MC900439781(1)T minus 5 and counting down, the schools are out, and colds and flu are everywhere…it must be the weekend before Christmas.

Are you tired yet? Are you looking forward to celebrating Christmas or celebrating that Christmas will be over soon?

This year I am looking forward to celebrating. Last year we spent Christmas day in the Emergency Room with my daughter who was very sick with the norovirus. And then it promptly went through the house. Not fun!

So this year I have gone all out. I have put out and up every decoration I own, Christmas tree with presents and fireplace with stockingsbought Christmas tree with presents and fireplace with stockings concert tickets, and invited folks to share in some seasonal cheer. Last year we had just moved into our new condo and I had no energy to decorate or celebrate…guess the universe concurred with that. But not this year. I’ve taken good care of my health, gotten lots of sleep and practically overdosed on Vitamin C. I have washed my hands more in the last few weeks than I think I have in the last year! I want to be healthy this year. And I am praying the universe concurs.

My romanticism around Christmas this year does not overshadow the meaning of the season nor am I blind to the tragedies around the world. My heart aches for the parents in Pakistan whose children and loved ones perished in the attack on the school. I cannot even begin to wrap my mind and heart around that kind of grief. Although much of the US media has dropped the Ebola story it still occupies my prayers and my Christmas giving includes a donation to help send supplies to the countries devastated by this very real virus. And with tensions running high in our own country I wonder if our so-called Christian nation realizes how far we have strayed from “the love one another commandment” of the one whose birth we celebrate.

Despite this my hopes are high because the world the baby Jesus was born into wasn’t all that different from ours. It is clear that we humans are slow learners and really resist what is best for our world and for ourselves. And we get another chance to try again this year. Just like I get another chance to do Christmas differently this year. MM900283898

Who knows maybe my attitude which is lifting me to see things from a higher altitude will carry me throughout the year. And who knows what that could mean? How about you? How is it going in your body, mind and spirit this last weekend before Christmas? iStock_000027543299XSmall

May the blessings of the light of Hanukkah and the love of Christmas fill your days,

Nancy

About Nancy A Leport

Nancy is a certified life coach who works with women and men who want to live by design not by default. She coaches amazing, busy, overwhelmed, and stressed people to live the life they want. She helps them get out from under the "should's" and "ought's" of everyone else's opinion to refresh, renew and recreate their bodies, minds and spirits. Isn't it time you gave yourself the gift of a de-stress coach? For more information, please call 585-943-3314
This entry was posted in Christmas, holiday stress, holidays, Professional Women, relaxation, Women and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

