Savoring

Well, they have come and gone again – in a flash.  Christmas moments.

What are Christmas moments?  They are those glimpses of wonder, joy, peace and love.  They are those glimmers of insight and truth.  They are those greetings that only come once a year.  They are those Grinch transforming actions that take your breath away or at least make you smile.grinchfeast

And they pass by so quickly in the hustle and bustle that has become Christmas that, although I want to, I don’t savor them as they deserve.

A little child’s eyes taking in the tree for the first time, Christmas tree lightsan old man’s tears as he faces what might be his last Christmas, a beautiful piece of music, a sappy, romantic movie with the one you love, a quiet reading of the Christmas story, a taste of a Christmas cookie, a nostalgic decoration from days gone by, a loved one’s absence, a word spoken at just the right time…all these things are Christmas moments held in snapshots in my mind but at the time experienced as a video on fast forward.

The Christmas season starts far too early to fall into the savoring category for me – at least when it starts.  The pressure seems to get turned on earlier and earlier to buy presents, decorate, sing carols, and see Santa Claus.  Many years by the time the day actually arrives I am glad to see the backside of it as it slides off the calendar once again.

But this year, although it started out that way, it finished differently.  I made some different choices this year and what a difference they made in terms of paying attention to what was being experienced around me.  As they say in today’s lingo, it was a more mindful Christmas for me than many have been.  And in the mindfulness I found many, many moments that I wanted to savor far longer than I could.

And it makes me wonder just how many other Christmases had moments to savor that I didn’t even see let alone recognize for what they were.

AND it really makes me wonder how many other moments I miss throughout the year as I rush from one thing to the next without being mindful of what the moment holds for me.

Christmas taught me a good lesson this year which will carry me into the New Year.  Being present in the moments of my life brings a much fuller appreciation for who I am, what I have, who is around me and why I do what I do.  But it doesn’t happen if I don’t slow down, take the time to savor those moments and treasure them in my heart.

 

About Nancy A Leport

Nancy is a certified life coach who works with women and men who want to live by design not by default. She coaches amazing, busy, overwhelmed, and stressed people to live the life they want. She helps them get out from under the "should's" and "ought's" of everyone else's opinion to refresh, renew and recreate their bodies, minds and spirits. Isn't it time you gave yourself the gift of a de-stress coach? For more information, please call 585-943-3314
This entry was posted in Christmas, holiday stress, holidays, Professional Women, relaxation, self-care, stress reduction, Uncategorized, Women and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

