Slow but Steady

Multi-tasking womanI am one who usually prides herself on being able to do twice as much as I put on my to do list and accomplish it each day.  Flying through paper work, making phone calls, running errands, keeping house, writing blogs, coaching and having a social life are the norms in my life.  My schedule keeps me energized and I thrive on it.  Not having a to do list and a full calendar stresses me far more than having one.  Furthermore, the busier I am the more likely I am to take time for myself because I know I need the time to recharge to keep going.  (Yes, I really do practice what I preach.)

So imagine the stress that occurred this week when everything came to a screeching halt due to illness.  Sidelined by a nasty case of bronchitis and a sinus infection, there was no way I could manage anything on my calendar.  There were taxes to get ready, two blogs to write, a newsletter to produce, a short story to complete not to mention grandchildren who ‘needed’ to see me!!!!  Nope, wasn’t going to happen.  Young Woman Blowing Her Nose in Bed

After two days of being completely down and out I began to manage a couple of hours a day sitting up.  And slowly, but steadily, I whittled away at the taxes, the blogs, the newsletter and the story.  Only the grandchildren were left out of the mix for obvious reasons.

Surprising myself I realized that without that crazy pace everything got done, I got in more naps and my stress levels didn’t go as high as I had feared.  Now, as I recover the test will be to remember there is more to thriving than an overloaded schedule and taking even more time for myself didn’t cause the world to stop spinning or my family to stop functioning.  Good lesson learned…I hope!?????

About Nancy A Leport

Nancy is a certified life coach who works with women and men who want to live by design not by default. She coaches amazing, busy, overwhelmed, and stressed people to live the life they want. She helps them get out from under the "should's" and "ought's" of everyone else's opinion to refresh, renew and recreate their bodies, minds and spirits. Isn't it time you gave yourself the gift of a de-stress coach? For more information, please call 585-943-3314
This entry was posted in Professional Women, relaxation, self-care, stress reduction, Women and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

