Just Depends

I saw a quote recently that made me stop and think. It said, “it just depends on what mood my body is in.”

Hmmmm.  I know I have a wide range of moods emotionally but I hadn’t thought of moods as related to my body as well.  And yet, as I thought about it, my body certainly has moods – many of which affect my emotions.  grumpyBody mood #1:  Tired.  off to work exhaustedWhen my body is tired and I decide to push it beyond the point where it is screaming at me for rest, my emotional center disappears and I am in full-blown “get out of my way or someone is going to get hurt” mood.

Body mood #2:  Hungry.  This is a body mood that I have either ignored to draining my mental, physical and emotional energy levels or have indulged with the same results.  Like Goldilocks this is body mood that I need to maintain at just the right level otherwise, my body mood is more like the bear who discovered Goldi hanging out in his house.

Body mood #3:  Sick.  Oh boy, how many times have you gone to work sick Young Woman Blowing Her Nose in Bedbecause the company or home cannot run without you, you fear for the results if you don’t show up (company and/or home), or there is too much to do to stop and be sick?  Infecting those around me is not a consideration (well, maybe a bit) but they will thank me for coughing and sneezing all over them because I am being productive.  And besides they will know how I feel about this when they are sick and can’t possibly stay home either.  You are welcome.

iStock_000024086772LargeBody mood #4:  Achy.  Now this mood could be a result of working out and making my body healthier or it could be the result of sitting too long at my computer, lack of toned or stretched muscle groups, overwork, overweight or over-stressed.  If it is a good ache, my mood might suffer a bit but overall I’m feeling good.  If it is a bad ache, then I find myself having a little pity party and being angry at my circumstances or myself for letting it happen.  Too much achy and my mood breaky.

Body mood #5:  Strong.  Super businesswomanWhen my body feels strong and healthy my mood soars and those around me are pretty darn happy I have done the work to maintain this mood.  I am woman hear me ROAR.  I am invincible

Of course, this is the mood my mind tricks me into thinking is how I am all the time…strong and happy regardless of what is going on in my body.

However, I know better.  It just depends on the mood my body is in.  The quicker I can identify my body mood, the quicker I can do something to change it.  However, the paradox is that it just depends on what mood my body is in.

Bottom line: I just have to be more aware, more conscious, of my choices and my circumstances every day in order to be on top of my body mood.  If I’m not, well….it just depends…

Nancy

About Nancy A Leport

Nancy is a certified life coach who works with women and men who want to live by design not by default. She coaches amazing, busy, overwhelmed, and stressed people to live the life they want. She helps them get out from under the "should's" and "ought's" of everyone else's opinion to refresh, renew and recreate their bodies, minds and spirits. Isn't it time you gave yourself the gift of a de-stress coach? For more information, please call 585-943-3314
This entry was posted in body, emotions, Professional Women, relaxation, self-care, sleep, stress reduction, Women and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just Depends

  1. Sarah Dekoven says:

    This is fabulous

    Sarah A. DeKoven MTS, MSW Chairman Kenya Self-Help Project, Inc www. KenyaSelfHelp.org 817/507-6514

    Certified Spiritual Director 3217 Lake Shore Drive Edinburg TX 78539

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

