Time4Yourself Reality Check

Ever since I have become more focused on de-stressing techniques and developing some stress lowering programs for busy, overwhelmed women, my life has become increasingly stressful.  It’s like the universe is saying to me “Ok, Missy, let’s see if you can practice what you preach.” 

I hate it when that happens!!!! 

But it does seem to be an indisputable fact of life for me.  If I say I am going to take more time for myself, then more requests than ever pour in.  If I say I am going to exercise for 30 minutes every day, my back goes out.  If I say I am going to set my intention to not let certain people bother me, I am thrown together with these people on a regular basis.  So when I said, I am going to become an expert in lowering stress, I was slammed up against the wall with major stressors – deaths, illnesses, selling a house, financial woes, travel difficulties and a major lifestyle change decision. 

Wish I could say to you that I took all of these in stride and breezed through them with a little meditating and bubble baths; but, alas, I cannot lie to you.  It was all stressful and then some.  And I wish I could say that these have all passed and all is calm, all is bright again; but, alas, many are still in process.

The reality is that stress happens – all the time and sometimes multiple stressors at once. 

So, here is what I have been doing. 

Yes, a little meditating.  It really does help and as little as 5 minutes a day can help rewire your brain to cope better with current stressors.  Yes, a bubble bath (and a glass of wine) after a long day can ease away some of those tight muscles.  And for me walking is a big stress reliever.  If I cannot get out in nature and walk, I put in an exercise/walking DVD and within 30 minutes I am feeling much calmer.  Deep breathing has become my constant companion and it really does help lower my stress.  Talking and getting another perspective on the things that are making me a little squirrelly gives me a respite from the continuous loop that is playing in my mind. 

Perhaps the thing that has helped me the most, however, is to look at each situation and ask which ones do I have any control over or which ones can I change with some input from myself or others?  Those are the ones I use my energy dealing with…the energy I have from doing the above techniques.  If there is absolutely nothing I can do about a stressor, then I give it up to God, the universe, my higher power and trust that it will work out.  But whatever the outcome I will be able to deal with it with my new energy. 

And I live and learn…knowing that sooner or later another patch of high level stressors is just around the corner.

That’s where I am this week.  How are you doing?

Nancy

About Nancy A Leport

Nancy is a certified life coach who works with women and men who want to live by design not by default. She coaches amazing, busy, overwhelmed, and stressed people to live the life they want. She helps them get out from under the "should's" and "ought's" of everyone else's opinion to refresh, renew and recreate their bodies, minds and spirits. Isn't it time you gave yourself the gift of a de-stress coach? For more information, please call 585-943-3314
This entry was posted in Professional Women, self-care, stress reduction, Uncategorized, Women and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Time4Yourself Reality Check

  1. Keep hanging in there Nancy… You are doing great and a model for us all!

    Like

Leave a comment